Handmade for the Cure

As an artist I have been thinking about this issue for over a year now and considering what I could do that was more than just making a donation. Knowing I’m just a little tiny voice who is here shouting and there are so many bigger voices shouting awareness. But all the voices coming together is only that much louder, that much stronger so that was my start. I know for me it was a matter of creating something bigger than me. A way to share my art, to hand-make something from my heart to give others a little hope, and extra ounce of courage, a smile or a feel-good moment. Art transcends so many things, the feeling I can bring to someone is always a driving force behind what I create. Winter for me is such a reflective time, while I’ve known of people who have been diagnosed, some who have survived, the impact in not personal..not yet. So I created these pieces so maybe we can offset it becoming personal, so that number of 1 in 8 people can go down.
So I’m proud to introduce my new line devoted to Breast Cancer awareness, “Handmade for the Cure”. Many of the pieces are customizable, I want everyone to feel they can contribute to these creations, to help them become personal to you and the ones you love.

 

We have decided to donate 20% of each piece sold to Susan G. Komen for the Cure. An excellent foundation that makes a difference for so many. We will be donating online after every sale. You will be able to go to our website www.MiddleburgFolkArtStudio.com and there will be a meter to indicate the amount that has been donated.

If you too would like to donate here is the link:   http://ww5.komen.org/donate/donate.html

 

We encourage other artists to create original works and devote them to the awareness of the fight for the cure as well, and hope to share of of these with you soon.

 

My series Handmade for the Cure is available in my etsy shop: www.Middleburg.etsy.com
Leave a Reply

