The Building of a Dream

Often in my work I think of things in series, over the next weeks I hope to share many parts to this new dream. Way back when I was a Creative Director in advertising the bigger the idea the better and i was know for some biggie’s in my day, but I also had teams around me who knew I could pull it off, so they followed and supported those ideas. But in the real world it’s hard to share with others your dreams and the reality you can bring to a project. There are however in my life a few that I totally really on for the emotional support I need, my husband who over the years has learned not to question but to jump in with both feet because on the other end it always turns out. And my son who when we talked long distance yesterday not only grasped the idea in a second but said “thank God because nobody I know moves as fast as we do and I could use some of that right now”.
So what we will be sharing is the building of our booth for The Colonial Craftsman’s Faire in Newport News, Virginia this May. We will be traveling to The Endview Plantation to launch our new historic line called Coach House Heritage. My love of all things historic has inspired me to create a line that will span from the late 1700’s to the Civil War.  Over 20 new pieces Papier Mache and another 25 in fabric will launch on the web and in person in Virginia May 16th!
Off with a dream…I envisioned a total environment to surround my work in, something modular, something historic, something grand…I envisioned Mount Vernon! You have to understand once i have a idea it’s pretty hard to stop that train. So the planning began, the sketch were whipped out, the materials thought out, the budget put into place. Supporters check! We will be creating a scale down version of George Washington’s impressive home. The measurements will be 20′ across by 16′ deep, the roof will climb up to around 12′. It will be a single room you will walk into set like the smaller “Green” dining room at Mount Vernon. A working front door and two rear doors along with at least four working windows. The copula, the dormers and chimneys will be faux but in three dimension. We will be demonstrating our 18th century process for papier mache casting during the days behind the building.
Here is the link to this very interesting show and event: www.colonialfaire.com
If you are interested in coming to view my creation, please sign up for my e-mail mailing list by sending me an e-mail and I’ll send you a discounted ticket and a special treat from Middleburg. 
Our e-mail: team@MiddleburgFolkArtStudio.com
I hope to end each one of these blogs with a tip or tidbits about business, and creating your dreams. 
So Tip #1: Dream big, figure out how you can make it possible, plan it out and find the ones in your life to give you that emotional support. So when you doubt yourself at some point in the project they will help carry you back to the Dream.!
1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Very inspiring blog and I LOVE your creations– so full of personality! My husband and I do historical re-enacting and I adore your historic line too and would love to come to VA but too much work and an event at Mabee Farm in Rotterdam, NY this weekend– our first this year so new breeches to be made and all the equipment has to be checked out and packed, etc. But you have really inspired me about your Mt Vernon idea– why can’t your booth be as interesting as your work? Ideas are jumping around in my head right now! The common wisdom is: “don’t have too much to carry” but I notice that I am drawn in to a craftsman’s work by how it is displayed so why not have that be as creative as possible and, if designed properly, it can be portable and easy to set up? What’s life if not for the challenges?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

