The Cardinal House

il_430xn22688608.jpg

You know as an artist when you create something truly exceptional, you feel it in your gut. Well I have just completed one and it all comes from a lot of times being called to a window in my Mothers kitchen to look at the cardinals outside. My mother was a true bird lover, we actually had a parrot. A yellow headed amazon named “Billy”, who at the time was nearing 30 when I was a kid. But her true loves were the birds in the yard, peace doves, robins and little sparrows. But the cardinals were king, she would put seed on the fence for them to land and eat in safety from the black birds. On snowy days she would often call me to see them, telling me which were the ladies and which were the gents.

I too have some wonderful cardinals here by my house now. So bright red. I heard a study was done on why the cardinal’s color red differs. The red color is actually affected by their diet and the ones who eat lots of red berries are redder in color. And do we have the trees with the red berry’s here. So I have very bright red cardinals by us.

So now you know my affinity for cardinals, I can tell you how this piece came to be. I was driving along a road to a morning appointment and all of a sudden in-front of my car flew about three or four cardinals swooping and diving around doing loop de loop right in front of the car. They seemed to stay in front of me for at least a quarter of a mile, then off into the trees on the road, as if they had never been there. I looked around and there were no other cars around. It seemed so still all of a sudden.
I take things like this to be little signs from somewhere or I guess we could call it inspiration!

You can see all the specs on “The Cardinal House at my etsy shop
www.middleburg.etsy.com

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Dani said,

    Wonderfully inspirational. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  2. 2

    That’s a beautiful piece. The cardinal is the unofficial love bird of my boyfriend and me because we used to watch a male cardinal call for his lady love in his old back yard. She’d come flying and singing and we of course projected our love onto them. Plus, my favorite color is red.

  3. 3

    Folk Art said,

    Beautiful bird house. The bright red cardinals look so cute. I really liked the way you arranged them as if they are flying. I never saw a cardinal for real. Thanks for posting this.

  4. 4

    Jillian said,

    What a gorgeous piece of work! Can’t wait to see some of it in person!
    Jillian

  5. 5

    Tootie said,

    This is a wonder piece! My grandmother loved cardinals too!

  6. 6

    sUz said,

    wOw! It’s just lovely! Thanks for the inspiration!
    iN jOy,
    sUz

  7. 7

    Jaimee said,

    I LOVE it!!!!

  8. 8

    Lenae May said,

    WOW!!!! I absolutely LOVE this!!!

    A great work, Susan!

  9. 9

    Claire Dassy said,

    Susan, I’m anxious to have a closer look at this piece at the Garfield Farm Art and Craft show in June! Looking foward to seeing you there.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

