My work is going to the Guggenheim

guggenheim-art.jpg


My work is going to the Guggenheim

Okay- not really. But it did make me smile yesterday, when I had a lovely etsy order and the customer asked for it be shipped to her office at the Guggenheim. I’ve had so much fun with etsy. My work has gone to: England, France, Finland, Spain, Singapore, Germany, Canada, Switzerland, and of course all over the US. It’s so fun to imagine its journey to another country or place, your work in a little box going so far. I take a mini- vacation every-time I get an order.

But I must share my elusive Guggenheim story. Back in the ‘Art-Director’ days, I was scouted by a company who sent me to New York for an interview. Well being the little overachiever I am, I scheduled three interviews for the same day. After all I was going to be there, why not make the most of it? So I flew in and did the first interview with the company footing the bill, which turned into three it self (after you meet with the VP, the VPCD and final the ECD.) Then off in cab to the other side of Manhattan to the next interview. After a sit down lunch at this cute restaurant (which I can’t remember the name, but it served comfort food) I had seared tuna and some lovely wasabi mash potatoes (mashed potatoes is comfort to me!) I grabbed another cab for my last interview. Finally arriving at my hotel at a convenient 4:00p.m. I checked-in and went right to the concierge to get info on the Guggenheim. I was in luck. It was late night, so the museum was going to be open long enough to take it at a leisurely pace. Let me preface this all by saying the ‘Guggenheim’ is my nirvana. Design by Frank Lloyd Wright (I could give the tour at his house in Oak Park, I take every ‘out-of-town’ guest we have there and pour over every inch of the house and studio), filled with the best modern art that money could by (and did), sitting smack dab in the middle of sky scrapers, this beauty all white and organic. There’s a line from the movie “Gone in 60 Seconds” where Nick Cage refers to a car as his ‘Eleanor’ (I can’t believe I just quoted that movie, but anyway) and the trouble is it’s the one car he can never manage to ‘boost.’ But now, unlike Cage, the Guggenheim is mine! After the chat with the concierge, I quickly popped up to my room, dropped the bag and portfolio, and made a quick shoe change (heels all day if you can imagine). The bed looks inviting, my feet hurt so what could the harm be in just laying down for a minute. Well the harm was I didn’t wake up until 12:30 am the next day! I jumped out of bed and yelled “my Guggenheim!!!!!!!!” My flight was leaving the next morning around 7:00am so no time in the ‘a.m.’ I missed it. And other times when I’ve been back to New York, it has always been a quick in-and-out. Never to just stand and marvel alone, my ‘Eleanor,’ my ‘Guggenheim!’

Leave a Reply

